Geographical position

The Republic of Cyprus is the third largest island in the Mediterranean Sea, spanning a land surface of 9,254 square kilometres. It has been an independent country since 1960 and a member of the European Union since 2004.

It is composed of 4 natural areas;

• Troodos mountains, located in the central-west part of the island, with the highest mountaintop being Olympus (1,951m above sea level).

• Pentadaktylos mountains, parallel to the northern coastline of the island, with mountaintops reaching up to 1,000m in height.

• Mesaoria Plain, located between the Troodos and Pentadaktylos mountains, with a relatively low altitude, not exceeding 180m in the area of Nicosia.

• Coastal Plains and Coastline Valleys.

Administratively, Cyprus is divided into six districts, namely; Nicosia, Limassol, Paphos, Larnaca, Kyrenia and Famagusta.

Being at the crossroad between Europe, Asia and Africa, Cyprus provides an excellent strategic location to establish and operate businesses from. Coupled with the island’s advanced infrastructure, talented workforce and transparent legal and regulatory framework, it has been established as an international business centre, offering services to the region and beyond.

At 200km from Israel and within a short 40’ flight reach, it serves as the most accessible neighbouring EU country to Israelis and Palestinians, thus enhancing its attractiveness as an ideal location for doing business, whether in the EU or other international markets.